My Top Picks For Places To Visit

I have been living in Bangalore for almost all my life. I figured I might as well write a post about the best places I recommend to visit in and around Bangalore.

Now, I’ll admit, I hardly get out of the house. Even when I do make weekend plans I’ll try to get out of them by the time the weekend arrives. This is a list of the select few places I would love for you to visit too.

Table of Contents

In Bangalore

1. Blossom Book House + Matteo Cafe at Church Street

Photo Credits: From Google Maps – By Business Owner

This is my safe place and my absolute favorite spot in the city. If you are traveling by Namma Metro like I do, take a left once you come out from the Church Street exit. You will also find the original, slightly smaller branch on the right side. It is one place where I can chill out alone for hours. I also love how Matteo Cafe is conveniently located right below this book store. A cuppa hot chocolate with whipped cream and your pick from Blossom – could it get any better?

[See List of Places]

2. Cubbon Park

Photo Credits: RoundGlass Sustain

There is just something about Cubbon Park that is so inviting. I prefer it over Lalbagh because of the calm yet chaotic, rugged vibe to it. The beautiful Gothic style of the Attara Kacheri (Karnataka High Court) attracts tourists every day. The  Seshadri Iyer Memorial Hall (State Central Library) is the perfect place to go when you want to study or focus in a quiet space.

[See List of Places]

3. Restaurant Chef Pillai, Whitefield

Photo from OnManorama

As a Malayalee, I have to recommend the best place to enjoy Kerala cuisine in Bangalore. Started by renowned Chef Suresh Pillai, this restaurant serves dishes that perfectly introduce the complex flavors of Kerala with an unexpected modern twist that city folks will enjoy too. If you visit, aside from his famous Fish Nirvana, I would recommend trying the “Sambharam Kadumanga Pani Puri”. It’s located right opposite the popular Phoenix Market City.

[See List of Places]

4. Shivaji Military Hotel, Banashankari

Photo Credits: Metro Saga

It’s always crowded and it’s usually a very long wait to get a seat here. But once you do, you will have no regrets. It’s better known for their chicken biryani although their mutton biryani is great too. They serve it hot on a plantain leaf and the smell of the steaming, fragrant rice draws you in before you dive into it. Their soups and dry side dishes are also a must try.

[See List of Places]

Around Bangalore

1. Munnar

Photo Credits: Wikipedia

Around 500km/10 hours from Bangalore, Munnar is the perfect place to visit if you have a 3-day or 4-day weekend. You have plenty of things to do once there – visit the tea factory, walk through the tea plantations, go to the spice gardens, enjoy nature hikes and participate in adventure activities. Even if you don’t feel like doing anything, just being in the lush green hills gives you an unmatchable joy. Please note that you should pay heed to the local’s advice on elephants and landslides.

[See List of Places]

2. Hampi


Photo Credits: Karnataka Tourism

A great place to visit if you are a history enthusiast. You will get to see the kind of architectural complexity we had hundreds of years ago. The fact that every stone carving was made through manual labour makes it even more impressive. It may take days for you to cover and really absorb the beauty of the place. I would recommend visiting the Chitradurga Fort, Tungabhadra Dam, Hampi Palace Ruins, & the Queen’s Bath. For restaurants, I would suggest trying Hotel Mayura Durg next to Chitradurga.

[See List of Places]

3. Gudalur

Photo Credits: TN Urban Tree

Only 250km/5 hours from the city, Gudalur is ideal for a spontaneous 2-day weekend trip. I would highly recommend staying at Gauri Farms. Full disclosure – it’s owned by a family friend but that’s not why I am recommending it. They truly have beautiful little cottages for you to stay in and the hosts will make you feel at home (I witnessed how they treated other guests as well). The farmhouse is situated very close to Ashwini, Gudalur’s Adivasi Hospital which was also started by the farmhouse owners – Dr Shyla Aunty and Dr Nandakumar (NK) Uncle back in 1980’s. This was back when Gudalur was less developed. The story of how Dr NK Uncle started the hospital with Dr Shyla Aunty after returning from US is one that could be adapted into an Oscar winning movie. It was fascinating hearing stories from Dr Shyla Aunty about how she would go up to the river to wash clothes everyday 3 decades ago. The same rivers are now lined with warning signs to avoid washing as the place is also frequented by wild animals. I also got to see how lantana (waste vegetation that threatens elephant habitat) was being converted into magnificient life sized elephant sculptures. The profits from sale of these sculptures go into elephant conservation.

[See List of Places]

4. Kodaikanal

Photo Credits: Going Indiaa

This would be an overnight bus journey type visit. It’s a must visit for those who like hill stations as much as I do. Just make sire you pack warm clothes, gloves, socks, raincoats, rain boots and umbrellas. You absolutely must visit the Dolphin Nose view, Green Valley view point, Bryant Park, Liril Falls (where the Liril ad was shot), and Vattakanal Falls. For food, Pastry Corner is a must try. They have the softest cakes and yummiest cup of filter coffee.

Well, that’s all for this post. What are some of your favourite places to visit in and around Bangalore? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading. See you in the next one! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Top Picks For Places To Visit

  1. Quite an informative article , Anupama ! As someone who’s mostly an introvert and who (also) prefers to remain confined indoors on the weekends , I think your recommendations would be apt for me .

    Blossoms and Cubbon Park are some of my favourite spots to visit here in Luru too ! I have not checked out the other two.. (Shivaji Military Hotel and Restaurant Chef Pillai ) However,I will take your word for it and add them to my list when considering where to go on a dinner date/meeting a friend . Thanks for these recommendations 😊👍🏾

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment